Leave a comment

A Sit Down with Brandi Salazar Author of Spring Cleaning!

A fun sit down with the author Brandi Salazar about her book Spring Cleaning!
guy girl closes her mouth
Where did the concept of Spring Cleaning come from?

I was in the middle of writing another story when I hit a mental block. Whenever that happens, I usually just open another doc and write whatever comes to mind. What I ended up with was the opening chapter of Spring Cleaning and it just sort of evolved from there.

How hard was it, as a woman, to write about the type of domestic violence in the book?

Strangely no. I think the ease of it had more to do with my own life experiences that helped shape my vision of this story. I have never been shy of what other may view as difficult or controversial topics, and with a intimate knowledge of domestic violence, I felt comfortable in what I was writing. Also, I feel that it is important for people, women especially, to address topics like this one and know that it isn’t something dirty or shameful and most importantly, something that can be overcome.

Did you become attached to the characters in this book? Is there any chance they may appear in another one of your books?

While I love all of my characters in different ways, I can’t say that these characters will be seen again in the future. In the end, I felt like I had seen them to through some fairly large struggles and they came out on the other side with as few scars as possible, so my work is done.

Terri truly was a fantastic character, the depth of fear and emotion she shows is amazing. Did you base her off a real person or is she solely a figment of your imagination?

Terri is solely a figment of my imagination. While I drew on my knowledge of others’ experiences (and a love of Lifetime Channel movies), her reactions and emotions were what I envisioned myself feeling and doing if put in her situation.

Have you always wanted to be an author?

Not really. I kind of fell into this job. When I was a kid, all I ever really dreamed of being was a veterinarian. Once I figured out that I would have to overcome my deep fear of needles, I decided something else was in order. Race car driver was my next big thing, and then accountant, and before I knew it I was an author and returning to school to become an editor, which is what I really want to do when I grow up.

What’s in store for you next? Any upcoming books?

I am gearing up to finish the second novel in my Addicted to Magic series, Crossfire, which is about a teenage witch struggling with the life-changing effects of magic abuse, a dysfunctional family, and a recent break-up. It’s due out sometime this August.
8581714
Springcleaningvirtualtour
Leave a Reply

